Book: Playing the Palace

Originally Published: May 25, 2021

By: Paul Rudnick

Fans of Red, White and Royal Blue will be interested in this book with the similar plot of an English prince falling in love with an American. And while this story is still entertaining, it’s not going to give you the same feelings.

Recovering from a broken heart, event planner Carter Ogden meets openly gay Prince Edgar of England. After spending some time together, Prince Edgar decides to bring Carter overseas to meet his family. Everyone has an opinion, including the disapproving queen, but can their love survive?

Author Paul Rudnick makes this a funny story, and you’ll feel all the awkwardness, however many scenes feel like they’re pushed too hard to be shocking. It’s like Rudnick felt he could only go zero or 100 instead of finding a middle ground.

Final say: Won’t be getting a crown. ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s