Music: Diplo Presents Thomas Wesley, Chapter 1: Snake Oil

Released: May 29, 2020

By: Diplo

Featuring: Orville Peck, Cam, Morgan Wallen, Jonas Brothers, Thomas Rhett, Young Thug, Blanco Brown, Noah Cyrus, Julia Michaels, Clever, Zac Brown, Danielle Bradbery, Ben Burgess, Lil Nas X & Billy Ray Cyrus

Diplo’s newest release blurs the line between pop, EDM and country leading to a loss of artistry both in its producer and the singers on the album.

While most of the country artists here, like Thomas Rhett and Zac Brown, have previously been on the borderlines of country and pop, most of the pop artists haven’t shown any leaning towards country music. And in the latter’s songs, there’s a loss of the country touch that the others have. It begs the question of whether Diplo knew exactly what he wanted to produce or not.

There are some standout songs, including the Rhett and Young Thug feature “Dance with Me,” as well as the Jonas Brothers’ “Lonely.” But none include beats that stand out enough to make it a club hit where Diplo’s music normally excels.

Final say: A slippery slope. ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s