Music: Bombshell

Released: February 12, 2013

By: Katharine McPhee, Megan Hilty, Bernadette Peters, Sophia Caruso, Will Chase, Debra Messing, Nick Jonas, Jaime Cepero, Christian Borle, Henry Stram, Phillip Spaeth, Wesley Taylor, Leslie Odom Jr., Savannah Wise, Julian Ovenden, Jane Krakowski & Christine Ebersole

Acting as an original cast recording to the musical within the television show Smash, Bombshell tells the life story of film icon Marilyn Monroe. With flashy songs that promise big stage presence, this album proves that the musical could do wonders on Broadway.

The music is all co-written by Tony Award winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman, whom wrote music and lyrics for Hairspray. Together, they weave everything Marilyn into a compelling story told through song.

Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty lead the album, alternating as Marilyn as their characters do on the show. Hilty may have a leg-up in stage vocals, but McPhee shines in many songs as well. Many other Broadway favorites – including Tony winners Leslie Odom Jr., Bernadette Peters and Christian Borle – appear and bring their show-stopping vocals.

Final say: Bombshell is a smash. ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s