Book: The Land of Stories – The Wishing Spell

First Book of The Land of Stories series

Originally Published: July 17, 2012

By Chris Colfer 

As an adult, I would love to be transported into the fairytale world as much as I did as a child. In the six-part series by Glee actor Chris Colfer, twins Alex and Conner Bailey do just that.

The kids fall into a storybook that their grandmother leaves at their house and find that the only way to get home is to unite the ingredients of the legendary Wishing Spell (which include Sleeping Beauty’s cursed spindle and Cinderella’s glass slipper). Along the way, the twins encounter familiar characters like Red Riding Hood and Goldilocks as well as original ones.

While definitely the best of the series, there’s no reason to fret when this story is over as the adventures that take place over the following five novels have yet to begin.

Final say: Lose yourself in your childhood. ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s