Book: Catching Fire

Second Book of The Hunger Games series

Originally Published: September 1, 2009

By: Suzanne Collins

Starting shortly after the end of The Hunger Games, this sequel brings as much intensity and breathtaking moments – to the point where it upstages the first.

With the “Hunger Games” celebrating its 75th anniversary, a special game is staged where former victors will be thrown back into the arena. Being the only female victor from District 12, Katniss Everdeen is automatically chosen and reenters alongside fellow champ Peeta Mellark. The arena they face this time is completely different, but it’s the people outside the arena they should be scared of.

By taking the same idea from the first novel and upping the stakes, author Suzanne Collins writes a gripping second story. Incredible new characters – namely Finnick Odair and Johanna Mason – are introduced into the longer narrative and the cliffhanger at the end is killer.

Final say: Better than the first. ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s